OUR HOME
about
Hawthorn Villa Estate, is situated on a picturesque hill with breathtaking views over the countryside and the Liffey River in the historic village of Carrick.
In the style of Gothic Revival, the two-storey red brick building features steeply pitched gabled dormers with decorative barges. Each of the house's barges and finials have a distinctly different design.
Hawthorn Villa is a National Trust and National Estate Classified Property.
Previous owners all described Hawthorn Villa as a “very loveable” house to live in.
HISTORY
Hawthorn Villa was built by Thomas Wilke Monds in 1873, established on the site of Carrick’s first hotel constructed in 1830’s by J Archer Snr and owned by William Bryan. The old inn was made of mud brick and straw. Much of the mudbrick from the old inn was re-used during the construction of Hawthorn Villa.
Thomas Monds, who owned the Carrick Flour Mill next door, lived with his family in the small cottage behind the Mill for seven years. After much hard work he had prospered sufficiently to be able to purchase more land, pull down the old inn and build the Gothic dwelling, Hawthorn Villa.
Legend has it that Mr Monds included a tin with coins and memorabilia of the time in the foundations of the building.
It was with the greatest pleasure that Thomas saw his wife and children (which had expanded to eight) take up residence in the roomier, more gracious quarters.
His head Miller moved into the cottage behind the original flour mill which still stands today.
A beautiful conservatory was originally integrated on the eastern side of the house as well as a croquet lawn once graced the front gardens to the north.